Flute Punch

Fingers, Just a Little Faster

Posted on: October 20, 2011

It’s been ages since I updated Flute Punch! I have missed it…

I’ve been contemplating the placement of my right thumb as of late. It’s always been a bit too far to the left, instead of under the fingers where it is reportedly supposed to go. I’ve never thought much of it. Until today.

After struggling for some time with smoothing out and speeding up some fast passages, I felt frustrated. Seriously – how long have I been playing these notes, and my technique is still sloppy, despite my efforts? Argh. On a whim, I moved my left thumb about 3/4 inch to the right, so it was more under the index and middle fingers of my right hand. And suddenly I could play it all.

It’s slightly uncomfortable. Hopefully I won’t get neck strain or some such thing. But it is making my practice time much more efficient – so much so that I have stopped stressing over whether I’ll be prepared for this upcoming concert. And less stress is always a good thing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 304 other followers

Archives

Flickr Photos

Latest Bookmarks

