Flute Punch

My New Handmade Flute Cradle!

Posted on: March 3, 2010

I’m so excited – this thing is wonderful. I remember my university professor having something like it, but when I looked online, I couldn’t find anything matching its description. I’ve been calling it a flute “cradle.” If someone knows it by a different name, let me know! Anyway, my first flute teacher also happens to be a carpenter, so I asked him to make one. I can’t imagine a better person for the job – being a flutist, he took care to be sure that the padding contacting the flute did not allow it to roll forward causing the Ab key to hit the wood.

I very much prefer this to a vertical stand/peg. It is so much more stable, and unlike the peg, will not cause my footjoint to bend. I do plan to use it in concert as well. I recently subbed for someone on flute and piccolo, and my instrument stand was a toddler stepstool with a black cloth thrown over it, sitting on the floor next to me. I plan to use the same setup, with the addition of my fantastic new flute cradle.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 304 other followers

Archives

Flickr Photos

Latest Bookmarks

